The Mystic’s Halloo

      by Stanislas Rodanski

In me the world dies

Slow retreat of flowing light

That reveals nacred plains of night

What milk aglow in virgin breast

What shivering roses in my twilit skies

Die off beautiful flowers of evening

Dangerous gardens crafty traps to catch the traveler

In the name of my Love shall flee visions of love

In the name of my anguish fear shall falter

Mouth agape too humanly on phantom lips

Wanderer forgotten in our familiar prisons

Crude music of infernal alarms

I pass along the worlds in-between

My desire a-times a bursting fanfare in the heart of mystery

Urged by mortal necessity

My heart turns to ice

Angel of despair crying out

But lacking words to summon the Word

The conjuration wherein vibrates the universe

Holy name that defies language!

And man overthrown clings to the land of his suffering

My drifting island where cries a Thulean king

The columns of the world shall never break

I am haunted by profound nostalgia

Oh sister from the land of the seas

An old regret washes over your eyes

Strange shining wherein my suffering is seen:

My lover my friend I must go again:

Where are you? 

      

        Translated by Christopher Rosales-Renault.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started